Tournament progress N0v 2018

None - Nov. 26, 2018, 9:16 a.m.

Robert Ward trophy: Chris Cox goes into Round 2 after defeating Geoff Rosser in Round 1. Geoff is now entered for the RW Plate competition for Round 1 losers.

Dolan Trophy: Brian Jones has won his first match in the all-play-all first round by defeating Des Green.


Roy  Smith

Match results score board not working properly

None - Nov. 3, 2018, 5:18 p.m.

Richard is currently looking at a bug affecting the league table scores for each division; you will see they are not working correctly at present.   Roy Smith

Results now displaying

None - Oct. 28, 2018, 9:32 a.m.

Richard has now activated the Results tab on the home page, showing a list of current season events. Click on the event and you get a fixture list; click on the fixture and match results are displayed. Results only show up when both captains have entered their match result. Any problems with the data, check with me! Captains will recall they have received instructions about how to enter match data. Again, any problomes, check with me. Roy Smith, Records Secretary

Individual Tournaments 2018-19 Robert Ward Trophy & Dolan Trophy - competitions started!

None - Oct. 14, 2018, 10:08 a.m.

I've now started the Robert Ward Trophy and the Dolan Cup competitions for 2018-19; those taking part have been informed of their draws. We have had eight entries for the Robert Ward  Trophy, and three entries for our new competition for lower-graded players, the Dolan Cup. I'll report results as each round progresses. Thanks to all who have entered the competitions and good luck to all players!

Roy Smith   Tournaments Secretary


Online results reporting now available

None - Sept. 19, 2018, 4:54 p.m.

Team Captains have now been sent instructions for entering results online.

Records Secretary

Robert Ward and Dolan Trophy entires still accepted

None - Sept. 8, 2018, 4:28 p.m.

Entries for the Robert Ward Trophy and the Dolan Trophy will be accepted until 30th September 2018. Email with your name, club, grade, email and phone number. Robert Ward Trophy is open to all individual members of participating clubs; Dolan Trophy is open to individual members graded less than 101 (including ungraded players). Rules for each competition are posted on the website under the 'Rules' tab.

RKS - Tournaments Secretary


None - Aug. 16, 2018, 9:20 p.m.

Note that the Rushall Chess Club's new venue is at the Bowman, corner of Myatt Ave/Gretton Crescent; not "Wyatt Ave" as previously posted!

Individual Tournaments 2018-19 Robert Ward Trophy & Dolan Trophy

None - July 16, 2018, 1:28 p.m.

This year we have two individual tournaments for members of CDCL clubs.

The long-standing Robert Ward Trophy is open to all players of participating clubs.

New for 2018-19 is the Dolan TrophyThis new competition is open to al players in participating clubs, plus the Bloxwich Junior Chess Academy. It is restricted to players graded at <101 ECF, or new ungraded players. 

Full rules of each competition are available under the RULES tab on the site homepage. 

Enquiries to: Roy Smith

Entries also to Roy Smith as above, stating NAME, CLUB, GRADE, EMAIL, PHONE, and which of the competitions you want to enter. 

Deadline for entries is 31st August 2018

League Competition Entries 2018-19

admin - June 18, 2018, 7:23 a.m.

Club entries for the CDCL league competitions for 2018-19 are:

Division 1 (<551): Lichfield; Sutton Coldfield 

Division2 (<461): Bolmere St Michael; Brewood; Bushbury; Lichfield; Rugeley; Rushall; Tamworth; Wolverhampton 

Division 3 (<371): Bloxwich JCA; Coleshill; Lichfield A; Lichfield B; Norton Canes 

Chase Trophy (<551): Brewood; Rugeley; Sutton Coldfield; Tamworth. 


Fixtures meeting Tuesday 3rd July 2018 Bridgtown Social Club

admin - June 11, 2018, 8:06 a.m.

A reminder to fixtures secretaries that CDCL is holding its Fixtures meeting on Tuesday 3rd July, 7.30pm at Bridgtown Social Club. Club entries for League Competition should be with the Records Secretary no later than Friday 15th June. Email Roy Smith on if you have not already sent your entries.

Bloxwich Junior Chess Academy joins the Cannock League

admin - June 11, 2018, 8:02 a.m.

Welcome to members of the Bloxwich Junior Chess Academy, which is entering a team in CDCL Division 3 for the 2018/19 season. This is great news as it reaffirms the League's commitment to encouraging new and junior players with opportunities for friendly competitive chess.

League Announcements

admin - May 29, 2018, 7:09 p.m.

This is where Cannock & District Chess League matters will be announced.